HomeAbout us

About us

Who We Are

South East England Councils (SEEC) was established in April 2009 to represent the views of local authorities in the South East.  The majority of the 70 councils across the South East are members.

  • Chairman: Cllr Roy Perry (Conservative, Hampshire County Council)
  • Deputy Chairman: Cllr Nicolas Heslop (Conservative, Tonbridge and Malling Borough Council)
  • Secretary & Treasurer: Cllr James Mills (Conservative, West Oxfordshire District Council). 
  • Vice Chairman: Cllr Keith House (Liberal Democrat, Eastleigh Borough Council)
  • Vice Chairman: Cllr Tony Page (Labour, Reading Borough Council)

Each member local authority nominates a senior councillor to represent its interests on SEEC. SEEC has a wide remit, which includes effective representation of local authority interests on issues affecting South East councils. SEEC works to four principles: To strive for a fair funding deal for the South East; Promote the South East’s position as a leading global economy; Act as a single democratic voice for South East interests; and Monitor the pulse of the South East.  See here for more information about SEEC’s priorities.

To see how SEEC handles personal data, following introduction of GDPR in May 2018 read our privacy policy.

In addition to its own work, SEEC hosts the South East Strategic Partnership for Migration (SESPM), which is fully funded by the Home Office. SESPM incurs no costs for SEEC members but ensures member meetings receive regular updates on migration issues and data.  For more information on SESPM, see here.