HomeAbout usSEEC prioritiesConstitution



South East England Councils approved its constitution at its Annual General Meeting on 14 July 2010.

The Constitution sets out SEEC’s objectives and the rules of membership. As the only organisation in the South East representing all tiers of local government, representation on SEEC’s Executive Committee is governed by a template that allocates seats to county, unitary and district councillors. There is also a political template, updated each year after the May local government elections, to ensure fair representation of all political parties who have at least 5% of councillors in the South East. Read the SEEC Constitution.

The templates for the SEEC Executive Committee in 2015-16 will be as close as possible to:

  • District councils – 8 seats
  • County councils – 7 seats
  • Unitary councils – 4 seats.

Within this template the seats are allocated as follows between the political parties:

  • Conservative councillors – 12 seats
  • Labour councillors – 3 seats
  • Liberal-Democrat councillors – 2 seats
  • To be confirmed – 2 seats (available to potential alliance comprising smaller parties if able to pass threshold of 5% councillors)