HomeAbout usSESPMSESPM Background

SESPM Background

SESPM – background

The South East Strategic Partnership for Migration is one of 12 partnerships covering the UK. The South East covers 74 local authorities in the geographical areas of Hampshire, Isle of Wight, Berkshire, Oxfordshire, Buckinghamshire, Surrey, West Sussex, East Sussex and Kent.  Sub-regional strategic migration groups help inform its work. For a detailed view into the sub-regional groups you can find the Partnership Structure for 2018-20.

The SESPM Executive Board is made up of representatives from across the South East. The Board has one elected councillor as Chairman, other members comprise a range of people concerned with migration, including:

• Local authority officers representing children’s services, adult services and housing
• Police – including Regional Organised Crime Unit
• Health
• Department of Work and Pensions
• Fire and Rescue Service
• Relevant regional Voluntary Sector organisations
• Home Office, including UKVI, Border Force, Gangmasters’ Licensing Authority

Key contacts

  • Chairman of the South East Strategic Partnership for Migration Board – Cllr Roger Gough,  Cabinet Member at Kent County Council
  • Head of  Partnership – Roy Millard
  • Lead organisation –  South East England Councils (SEEC)

Sub-Regional Strategic Migration Groups

  • Kent – covers Kent County Council area (including district and borough councils) and Medway Council (unitary authority)
  • Hampshire & Isle of Wight – covers Hampshire County Council area (including district and borough councils), Portsmouth, Southampton and Isle of Wight unitary authorities
  • Sussex & Surrey – covers  East Sussex, West Sussex and Surrey county councils (including district and borough councils) and Brighton and Hove City Council (unitary)
  • Thames Valley –  covers Oxfordshire, Buckinghamshire county councils (including district and borough councils),  six Berkshire plus Milton Keynes unitary authorities.


  • The SESPM Board meets up to four times a year. Regular updates from the Migration Partnership are delivered at SEEC Executive Committee meetings.
  • The four sub-regional strategic migration groups for the South East meet up to four times per year.
  • SESPM co-ordinates one South-East No Recourse to Public Funds (NRPF) metings per year.
  • Ad hoc regional migration priority meetings.

The work of SESPM is grant-funded by the Home Office. For more information on SESPM please contact Roy Millard at South East England Councils on roymillard@secouncils.gov.uk; 01304 872186.